top of page

Can I eat raw Coffee Beans?

Updated: Feb 4, 2022



Have you ever thought about grabbing a handful of coffee beans and crunching on them? What would they taste like? Would they make you sick?


If you drink coffee every day, then surely it would be ok to just get your daily intake of caffeine from eating these tiny dark beans. Why not sprinkle them on some ice cream, or spread them between two pieces of bread, having yourself a wonderful snack at lunchtime?


We consume the liquid from these wonderful delights. You would think it is ok to just eat them raw. Having never tried them myself, I could not tell you if they taste like chocolate, or like dirt.

I wonder if people do eat these and if they give off (more or less) caffeine than drinking the juice from them.

Let us find out all about these crunchy sweet looking little joys of sunshine together.


What Do Raw Coffee Beans Taste Like?


Coffee beans are fruit pits that come from red berries. You can eat these pits, and some people put chocolate over them, making for a tasty treat. You can eat them unroasted or roasted. The problem with eating these beans unroasted is that they could carry harmful properties depending on where and how they grew.


Most people think these beans taste like old worn grass or something of a wood texture. I tasted dark roasted beans for this blog post, and to me, they tasted like bitter grainy rocks. It was like chewing on bitter wood-flavored pebbles. It took about an hour to get the taste out of my mouth.


Depending on what roast or depending on if the beans are unroasted or roasted, will determine the outcome of your value of these pits. Most people that eat raw coffee beans will do this for the ingredients found in them. They do produce caffeine, but they also have antioxidants.


So, if you are bored and want something to snack on. Just pick yourself up a bag of fruit pits and go to town on them. Caution though, do not eat a bunch at one time, consuming too many of these will upset your stomach. They may also cause indigestion. You can find more information on consuming coffee beans online or ask your medical professional before drinking or eating anything with caffeine in it. That is unless you already consume caffeine regularly by drinking it.


Where Can I Buy Raw Unroasted Coffee Beans At?


You can find unroasted coffee beans online or try asking your local coffee shops in your town about buying them. I will connect you with a company online that sells them.

I hope this blog post helps you with the questions about eating raw coffee beans, and about what they taste like. Take it from me, you may want to skip eating these beans raw unless you plan to roast them and then smother them with chocolate.


Let me know in the comments if you have eaten raw coffee beans, and what you think about them? Do you put chocolate on them, or just eat them in a raw state?


Thanks.

The Coffee Drinker




PS. I have all the new coffee drinker products in my store for sale. I have one-of-a-kind designs you will love for the whole family. Check out my custom-designed shoes, playing cards, clothing, coffee cups, and so much more. You will fall in love with The Coffee Drinker brand.

Store & Podcast Link Below

My Photography Page Below. Over 12,000 visitors and counting.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page